School of Biological and Chemical Sciences

Undergraduate menu

Joint Research Symposium 2018

Multipolar abnormal mitotic spindle in a human cancer cell

QMUL - NCU Joint Research Symposium 2018

Date: Thursday 12 April 2018 - Location: Room 101, Graduate Centre

Date: Friday 13 April 2018 - Location: Room 201, Graduate Centre

The QMUL - NCU Joint Research Symposium is an annual two-day meeting that hosts seminars and posters by researchers at the Queen Mary University of London and Nanchang Central University.  The bilateral meeting highlights recent progress in biomedical research and training across the two universities. 

A wide range of biomedical research areas using structural, molecular, cell biology and -omics approaches will be discussed. Both research group leaders and students will present their recent findings at the bilateral meeting. 

Register Here

QMUL NCU Joint Research Programme [PDF 95KB]

Day One Programme

08:55 - 09:00

Welcome Remarks

Edmund Burke (QMUL)

09:00 - 10:30

Session Chair: Viji Draviam

Jin Zhang (NCU); Vidya Darbari (QMUL); James Garnett (QMUL)

10:30 - 11:00 Coffee/Tea
11:00 - 12:30 

Session Chair: Peter Heathcote

Ben Stieglitz (QMUL); Xuhui Zeng (NCU); Zhi-Jun Luo (NCU)

12:30 - 14:00 Lunch
14:00 - 15:00 

Session Chair: Guy Hanke

Susana Godinho (QMUL); David Kelsell (QMUL)

15:00 - 15:30 Coffee/Tea
16:00 - 17:30 

Session Chair: Susana Godinho

Lakxmi Subramanian (QMUL); Shi-Wen Luo (NCU); John Marshall (QMUL)

Discussion and Photograph Session

17:30 - 17:35

Closing Remarks

Richard Pickersgill (QMUL)


Day Two Programme

13:00 - 13:10

Introduction and Welcome Remarks

Viji Draviam (QMUL)

13:10 - 14:10 

Session Chair: Vidya Darbari

Master's students talks

Tanya Masood (Steiglitz Group); Nadia Osumanu (Draviam Group); Nandini Devila (Main Group)

14:10 - 14:20 Break
14:20 - 15:20

Session Chair: Lakxmi Subramanian

Mia Lapine (Connelly Group); Sabrina Khan (Hanke Group); Sophie Knott (Wilkinson Group); Tara Rebecca Morrison (Viles Group)

15:20 - 15:45 Coffee Break
15:45 - 17:00

Session Chair: Nanchang Lecturer

Yuqing Yang; Chengye Yin; Wenwei Yang; Xiang QuMengyu Wang

17:00 - 17:45

Session Chair: Christoph Engl

David Bode (Viles Group); Charlotte Frankling (Main Group); Naoka Tamura (McClelland Group)

17:45 - 17:50

Closing Remarks

Richard Pickersgill (QMUL)

17:50 - 19:00

Drinks Reception and Poster Session

Venue: Peston Foyer

Photograph and Prize Session from 18:15


Return to top