menu

School of Biological and Chemical Sciences

Research menu

Chemistry and Biochemistry and Cell and Molecular Biology Seminar Series

Seminars take place Fridays, 12.30pm - 1.30pm in the Fogg Lecture Theatre, with the exception of one seminar which takes place on Wednesday 8 February at 12.30pm in the Fogg Lecture Theatre.  All welcome. 

Seminar coordinator: Dr Christopher Jones

 

Date Speaker Title
Fri 13 January Benedetta Menucci (University of Pisa) The role of the protein in light-driven biological functions: a quantum chemical view
Fri 20 January Elsa Sanchez-Garcia (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Kohlen) Multiscale simulations of reactive intermediates
Fri 27 January Richard Taylor (University of York) From natural products to organic diversity: dearomatisation and spirocycle synthesis
Wed 8 February Gilles Lemercier (Universite de Reims Champagne-Ardenne) Linear and two-photon absorption access to emissive excited-states of 1,10-phenanthroline derivatives and related Ru(II) (nano-)edifices
Fri 10 February Nigel Robinson (University of Durham) The Wills Lecture

Metal-protein speciation: the elemental logic of cells

Fri 24 February Christiane Timmel (University of Oxfordl) Porphyrin molecular wires
Fri 3 March Sabine Flitsch (Loughborough University) The Drummond Lecture

Biocatalysts for programmable organic synthesis - development of de novo enzyme cascades

Fri 10 March Stephen Thomas (University of Edinburgh) The RSC Hickinbottom Award Lecture

Simplifying earth abundant metal catalysis

Fri 17 March Elaine O'Reilly (University of Nottingham) New biocatalytic disconnections and methodologies for chiral amine synthesis
Fri 24 March Thomas Hoye (University of Minnesota) The RSC Robert Robinson Award Lecture

Title TBC

Fri 31 March Moustafa El-Araby (King Abdulaziz University) HCV-NS4A mimics as a new strategy for development of direct acting antiviral agents
Return to top